How long ago was it now?

September 21, 2011

It has been a while since I last blogged… I cannot remember the last time I read a book to completion, that is barring the ones that I have been re-reading online. It has been quite a while since I have had the satisfaction of running a fully functioning piece of code and taking pride in the fact that it was my creation.

It has been a while since I did anything that I would have once considered necessary to call myself productive. Yet, I am happier than ever, inspite of not being in pursuit of it. That, I guess, is the joy of parenthood.

All day, I hang with my son, cook, eat, sleep, feed him, fool with him, play with him, sometimes be strict with him and tell him what and what not to do, but most times just let him tell me what and what not to do. Waiting for my husband to get back from work is the only hardship that I have probably faced in a long long time and even then I have company. The joy of seeing my husband return from work is now doubled. It is a sight to behold to see my son running helter skelter to receive his dad. My son looks almost like an exact replica of his father. But he inherited 3 distinct characteristics of mine: my bulbous nose, my temper and my love for his father – my husband. It is reassuring to see my son cling, pull, smother, nag and do all that I do to make a nuisance of myself with his dad and get away with it!

Oh, the joy of it!

I have, atlast, crossed the line. The much coveted line that I thought I would cross when I turned 18 and became eligible to vote, but did not. Then at the time I first started earning my living. Then at the time I got married. The elusive line beyond which I could consider myself a grown-up. Well, for me, it has taken another life to grow with to make me a grown up.

So here is to my son, and the recommencement of blogging!

Leave a Reply

