Brown And Its Chilli Cheese Toast

July 17, 2008

Our favorite hang-out place was “Brown”.  The coffee pubs and chains that have cropped up, like Cafe Coffee Day and the Barista, cannot hold a candle to what “Brown” was.  Yes, I said “was”.  The last time I went there was four years later and the place was run down and the coffee was appalling.  It had taken a beating from the more famous chains.  Surprisingly, the chains too suffered the same fate two years after they had established themselves.  That is, in Coimbatore.  That is what Coimbatore does to you.  It sucks the life out of you – if you want to live and let live, your best option is to RUN.  Yes, go… GO NOW!  Else, soon you will be one of them.

I do like to be dramatic.  But if you came from outside, you would see what I mean.  As for those on the inside, they are part of it.  If you are a visitor, then never mind.  You are safe!

My favorite in Brown was “Cold Coffee” and “Chilli Cheese Toast”.  That was my regular order.  When I came to the US, at first, I expected the Frappuccino in Starbucks to be like the one and only Cold Coffee I was used to.  What a disappointment that was!  Starbucks sells for the so-called culture, not the coffee.  But even there, I have a favorite – a crush, if you will – Peppermint Mocha!  And I am yet to get over it.

The chilli cheese toast is another that I am yet to taste since Brown.  Following is a very pathetic attempt at copying that.

Chilli Cheese Toast

Ingredients

  • 4 tablespoons Mozarella cheese
  • 4 green chillies (very thinly sliced)
  • Salt
  • 4 bread slices
  • Salted butter

Method

Mix the first three ingredients together and sandwich generously between buttered bread slices.  Toast them in a sandwich maker.  That is it!

chilli cheese toast

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I am going to keep experimenting, until I get close to the original – unless, somebody can get me the original recipe!

Leave a Reply

